Home » Event » Second Annual Meeting of the West African South-South Network on MRV and Transparency

Second Annual Meeting of the West African South-South Network on MRV and Transparency

Dakar Meeting
Country: Senegal
City: Dakar
Email: damiano.borgogno@undp.org


In the framework of the West African South-South Network on Measurement, Reporting and Verification (MRV) and Transparency, which was initially launched in October 2016 in Lomé, Togo, the Government of Senegal is pleased to host the second annual meeting of the Network, which will be held in Dakar, Senegal, from 11 to 13 October 2017.

This year, the meeting will convene the two nominated focal points from each country member of the Network[1], a guest country invited to share its experience (for 2017, the Government of Morocco), as well as West African regional institutions and international organizations involved in the MRV/Transparency framework.

The meeting will aim to accomplish the following results:

  • Develop an action plan for the Network which can provide short and long term benefits to its member countries by facilitating concrete opportunities for regional exchanges, peer to peer collaboration and improved capacity building on MRV and Transparency;
  • Provide participants with a better understanding of the linkages between the existing MRV arrangements and the Enhanced Transparency Framework established under the Paris Agreement, which will be instrumental for the implementation and tracking of Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs);
  • Share success stories and lessons learnt on MRV from the West African region;
  • Facilitate and support trust building among actors to enhance climate action and collaboration.

The meeting will be technically and financially supported by the UNDP/UNEP GSP and the Regional Collaboration Centre of Lomé (RCC Lomé).

The meeting will have French/English translation.

For any request and/or additional information, feel free to get in touch with Mr. Donald Singue Tanko, RCC Lome- DSingueTanko@unfccc.int


[1] As at 8 October of  2017, 14 countries took action to be part of the Network and nominated focal point to the Network (1 for the energy sector and 1 for the AFOLU sector). These countries include: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.